Testing the NXT and EV3 programs (continued)

In an earlier article, I mentioned that I wrote a small test program to send commands to a NXT or EV3 program for testing purposes. I have updated this application with the possibility to send and retrieve data over a WiFi connection. Next, you must enter the name of the Brick name to connect to. Error handling is not implemented. For example, if you switch off the NXT or EV3 while the connection is open, the application crashes. That is the reason that I don’t share this application (yet, don’t know if anyone would be interested).

PC To Mindstorms Command Hub - Version 2

As you may have read in the article about sending data from the EV3 to the PC, I haven’t found a way to read data from a mailbox over a WiFi connection. I use the workaround (see my articles “Sending data over WiFi between our PC application and the EV3”), although this is not visible on the UI of my test application.

While writing the test application, I came across the following. Nothing fancy, but it might come in handy if you are also writing PC software to connect to a brick:

  • Currently, I have two EV3 bricks for testing. At a certain stage, one of the bricks worked fine with the Bluetooth connection. The other one, with exactly the same EV3 program running, didn’t. I found out that the only difference was the firmware: on the working brick, the Home Edition version was installed. The other brick had the Education Edition installed. I can’t explain why, but sending data over a Bluetooth connection doesn’t work with the Education Edition.
  • If you want to connect to a brick (either Bluetooth or WiFi), make sure that you close the EV3 Programming Environment application. I noticed that I sometimes wasn’t able to connect from my test application when the EV3 software was still active. It seems that (even when there is no brick connected) a connection is not closed completely.
  • Use a rechargeable battery if you are working with WiFi. Or, in other words, if you don’t need WiFi, turn it off. I noticed that a fully charged battery was almost empty in three hours. And I even had no motors or sensors connected!

2 thoughts on “Testing the NXT and EV3 programs (continued)

Leave a Reply

